Thursday, January 19, 2017

Edwards Sets 1,000-Meter Collegiate Record

Edwards Sets 1,000-Meter Collegiate Record

Kaela Edwards Winning NCAA Title
Bookmark and Share
Holiday Inn Invite Day One Results

– Oklahoma State's Kaela Edwards broke the collegiate record in the 1,000-meter run Friday, with a time of 2:40.79 to cap off an eventful outing for the OSU track and field team at the Holiday Inn Invite.

The women's 1,000-meter run that featured Edwards was already one of the most anticipated races of the day as it also included NCAA runner-up Savannah Camacho and OSU newcomer Chelsea Jarvis.

"It was awesome to see," coach Dave Smith said. "She went out and led wire-to-wire and looked up with about a lap to go and realized she had a chance to break it, so she turned it up. She got it by about three-hundredths of a second, and a collegiate record is a great accomplishment for her and a great way to start the season."

The Cowgirl trio didn't disappoint, finishing one-two-three with Edwards winning the race, setting a new collegiate record, smashing the Devaney facility record by five seconds and breaking her own school record by three seconds. Edwards' time is also the best time by an American so far this year by two seconds.

"Kaela is an incredible athlete with a lot of big goals for this season," Smith said. "The way she ran today really puts her in a good position to accomplish those goals and to have a successful senior campaign."

The previous collegiate best of 2:40.82 only stood for 11 months. It was set back in February of 2016 by Villanova's Angel Piccirillo.

Jarvis took second in the 1,000 in 2:48.00 and Camacho crossed the line in 2:49.38 to take third. Camacho's finish was nearly nine seconds better than Nebraska's Haley Harsin who came in fourth.
True freshman Kira White improved on her collegiate best as she won her qualifying heat of the 60-meter dash Friday in 7.74 seconds. Running in heat five, White's win also earned her the top-seed going into tomorrow's semifinal heats.

Abbie Hetherington debuted with a win in the 800-meter run in 2:09.87. While the time was more than three seconds off her personal best of 2:06.26 from last outdoor season, it was Hetherington's first competitive race indoors since 2015 and an indoor PR in the 800.

In the same event, Molly Sughroue (2:11.54) and Kaytlyn Larson (2:14.24) finished second and fourth, respectively, and true freshman Haley Geissler took seventh in 2:15.74, which was three-tenths of a second off her personal best.

"Molly got a little excited and went out kind of hard, but I commend her fearlessness and how she attacked that race," Smith said. "All of our middle-distance women looked great today, and it was really nice to see them getting after it."

The men's 800 had a similar outcome for OSU as Ryan Wheatley and Bradley Johnson finished one-two with three-tenths of a second separating the Cowboy veterans at the finish.

German international Fenja Krohn won the high jump event, maxing out at 1.65m/5-5.00 feet. She was joined at the top of the stand with her teammate, true freshman Haley Mouser.

In the men's 1,000, All-American Josh Thompson's time of 2:25.22 was enough to hold off fellow Cowboy Matthew Fayers (2:26.04) for the win. It was the duo's season debut and their first competitive race since the NCAA Cross Country Championships where Thompson earned his first cross country All-America honor.

"Fayers was aggressive and almost got away from Josh in that race," Smith said. "[Josh] had to work in those last 400 meters, but I liked the competitiveness I saw out of them and the rest of the team today. Even the freshmen in the mile tried to steal the spotlight from Craig and they all did incredible jobs out there."

Senior Craig Nowak led the Cowboys to a top-three sweep in the men's mile with a win in 4:08.63. Freshmen Alec Haines (4:10.10) and Ryan Smeeton (4:11.32) finished second and third, respectively.

The women's 60-meter hurdles qualifying round saw Emily Hart advance with the third-best time of the day of 8.97 seconds. She returns to the track tomorrow at noon for the semifinal.

Jacob Fincham-Dukes only needed one jump to wrap up his second event title of the indoor season. He leapt 7.40m/24-3.50 feet in the long jump, a fourth of an inch off his season best from the Kansas State Winter Invitational back in December.

"What I saw today was a lot of athletes who were away from competition, who didn't have access to indoor facilities, and still went out and competed to the best of their abilities," Smith said. "I'm very happy with the energy out there and the team vibe is great, so I just want to see more of the same tomorrow."

The Holiday Inn Invite resumes Saturday at noon. Along with those who advanced into the semifinals, OSU is expected to field athletes in the 600, 200, 4x400-meter relay and distance medley relay among other events tomorrow. To follow along, live results are available on

Holiday Inn Invite | Jan. 13, 2017 | Lincoln, Neb.

Men's Results
60 Meter Qualifying
6. Logan Daily – 7.00
17. Ty Smith – 7.14

800 Meters
1. Ryan Wheatley – 1:53.82
2.Bradley Johnson – 1:54.12

1000 Meters
1. Josh Thompson – 2:25.22
2. Matthew Fayers – 2:26.04
9. Garrett Calhoun – 2:31.93

1. Craig Nowak – 4:08.63
2. Ryan Smeeton – 4:10.10
3. Alec Haines – 4:11.32

60 Meter Hurdles Qualifying
5. Donovan Nunley – 8.47
21. Cole Verble – 9.23

Pole Vault
7. Cole Verble – 4.31m/14-1.75

Long Jump
1. Jacob Fincham-Dukes – 7.40m/24-3.50
12. Donovan Nunley – 6.47m/21-2.75

Women's Results

60 Meters Qualifying
1. Kira White – 7.74

800 Meters
1. Abbie Hetherington – 2:09.87
2. Molly Sughroue – 2:11.54
4. Kaytlyn Larson – 2:14.24
7. Haley Geissler – 2:15.74

1000 Meters
1. Kaela Edwards – 2:40.79*
2. Chelsea Jarvis – 2:48.00
3. Savannah Camacho – 2:49.38

60 Meter Hurdles Qualifying
3. Emily Hart – 8.97
16. Devre Newby – 9.37
21. Erin Hart – 9.57

Weight Throw
7. Jocelen Ruth – 15.39m/50-6.00
8. Baylor Nelson – 15.02m/49-3.50
12. Ieva Zarankaite – 14.21m/46-7.20

High Jump
1. Fenja Krohn – 1.65m/5-5.00
2. Haley Mouser – 1.65m/5-5.00
15. Devre Newby – 1.50m/4-11.00

*indicates collegiate record

No comments: